The ball went above the waist… still Kohli was given out, what do the rules say?

Ronit Kawale
Ronit Kawale - Senior Editor
4 Min Read


Was Virat Kohli given out on no ball?
Which ball is called a no ball by the umpire?
Why did Kohli get angry at the umpire?

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

New Delhi. RCB's star batsman Virat Kohli was batting in excellent rhythm in the 36th match of IPL. In the match against KKR, Kohli was given out on a full toss ball. After which there was a huge uproar. Virat was not happy with the umpire's decision and expressed his anger. While returning to the dugout after an argument with the umpire, Virat hit the dustbin kept outside the boundary with his bat. Controversy has started on Kohli's wicket. Virat said that the ball was above his waist, hence no ball should have been called, whereas the third umpire declared it a valid ball and gave Virat out. Now what is this no ball? And when is it given? Let's find out.

Virat Kohli could not control the full toss ball of Harshit Rana in the third over and was caught by the bowler. He took a review claiming that the full toss ball was above his waist but the third umpire argued that Kohli was out of the crease and the ball was going downwards. However, Kohli seemed unhappy with the third umpire's decision and even argued with the field umpires before leaving the crease. After leaving the field, he expressed his displeasure by slamming his bat.

How can RCB qualify for the playoffs despite the heart-breaking defeat against KKR? Know the complete equation

Umpires cannot turn a blind eye before taking such poor decisions… Former cricketers got angry after Kohli was given out.

What is the no ball rule in cricket?
While bowling, when the bowler's foot goes beyond the line, that ball is considered a no ball. Apart from this, if the full toss ball remains above the batsman's waist then it is declared a no ball. When the umpire feels that the bowler is throwing, he calls a no ball. It is a no ball even if the ball hits the ball twice before reaching the batter. Even if the ball stops before reaching the batsman, it is a no ball. Even if more than two fielders are present behind square (behind the stump line) on the leg side, the ball is a no ball. Even if the bowler hits the stumps at the non-strike end while bowling, the ball is declared no.

Virat Kohli was batting out of the crease
The full toss ball bowled by Harshit Rana to Virat Kohli seemed as if it was going above his waist, but despite this the umpire did not give a no ball. The umpire did not give no ball because at that time Virat Kohli was batting out of the crease. When his bat made contact with the ball, he was standing on his toes. The umpire declared Harshit's full toss valid as it came out of the crease. If Virat had remained in the crease, the angle of the ball would have been below his waist and it would not have been a no ball. For this reason the umpire declared Virat out.

tag: ipl 2024, KKR, kkr vs rcb, rcb, Virat Kohli

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at

Leave a comment