Telangana Day: Why and how did Telangana become separate? Know the story of becoming the 29th state of the country

Orhan Wadia
Orhan Wadia - Editor
2 Min Read

Date/ Month/ Year What happened 1948 Hyderabad was made a separate state, a part of which is today's Telangana. 1 November 1956 Telangana was separated from Madras State and merged with Andhra Pradesh, forming a state of Telugu-speaking people. 1969 The Jai Telangana movement started with the demand to make Telangana a separate state. 1972 Within three years of the Telangana movement, the Jai Andhra movement also started. The demand of this movement was that Andhra Pradesh, which has a coastal region, should be made a separate state. 1997 BJP supported the demand for Telangana state. BJP's promise in the 1998 elections was – 'One vote two states'. 2001 Seeing Uttarakhand, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh becoming separate states, Chandrashekhar Rao formed the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to restart the Telangana movement. 2004 TRS contested the elections in alliance with Congress and won 5 Lok Sabha seats and 26 Assembly seats. 2008 TDP supported the demand for Telangana. 2009 TRS contested the elections in alliance with TDP, but was reduced to 2 Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats. 2 September 2009 Chief Minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy died in a helicopter crash. October 2009 Chandrasekhar Rao started a fast unto death demanding that Telangana be made a separate state. 9 December 2009 The Centre decided to make Telangana a separate state and started the process of formation of Telangana. 3 February 2010 The Central Government constituted a 5-member Srikrishna Committee to review the Telangana issue. December 2010 Srikrishna Committee submitted its report and suggested 6 options. 30 July 2013 The UPA Coordination Committee and the Congress Working Committee decided to make Telangana a separate state. February 2014 The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act was passed in the Parliament. 2 June 2014 Telangana was formed as a new state. The new state had 10 districts, with Hyderabad as its capital.

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment