PM Modi oath taking 3.0: Many ministers were removed, some got place in NDA government even after defeat

Ananya Shroff
3 Min Read

New Delhi: In the third term of the NDA government, some leaders were dropped from the cabinet after winning, while some got ministerial posts even after losing. Anurag Thakur, Smriti Irani, Arjun Munda, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Narayan Rane, Purushottam Rupala, RK Singh, who have been Union ministers till now, did not get a place this time. Anurag Thakur has won the election from Himachal, Narayan Rane from Maharashtra and Purushottam Rupala from Gujarat. There was a lot of controversy over a statement by Rupala during the election and Rajput organizations opened a front against him. While Smriti Irani defeated Congress leader Rahul Gandhi from Amethi in 2019, this time she has lost the election from Amethi. Arjun Munda, Mahendra Nath Pandey and RK Singh also could not win the election. Rajiv Chandrashekhar, Minister of State in the previous government, also did not get a place in the government. He contested against Congress leader Shashi Tharoor from Kerala, but lost in a close contest.

Got ministerial post even after losing

While many big names have been dropped after the defeat, Ravneet Singh Bittu, who lost the election from Ludhiana in Punjab, has been included in the Council of Ministers. Bittu is the grandson of former Punjab Chief Minister Beant Singh. Just before the elections, he left the Congress and joined the BJP and contested on a BJP ticket. The BJP is trying to gain a foothold in Punjab. This time for the first time, the BJP contested the elections alone in Punjab, but could not win a single seat.

Those who were in discussion but did not get the post

Before the elections, the name of Rajya Sabha MP and now MP from Uttarakhand Anil Baluni was in the news that he might get a place in the Council of Ministers. However, he has not been included in the government. Supporters of former BJP state president Sanjay Jaiswal in Bihar were hoping that he would get a ministerial post this time, but he has also not been included in the government. Manoj Tiwari's name was also in the news from Delhi, but he did not get a ministerial post. There was also talk of including BJP state president K Annamalai from Tamil Nadu in the cabinet, but he did not get a place. BJP's vote share has increased in Tamil Nadu.

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment