Rohit broke Dhoni's big record, became India's most successful captain in T20

Orhan Wadia
Orhan Wadia - Editor
3 Min Read


This is India's 43rd T20 win under Rohit's captaincy India has won 42 T20 matches under the captaincy of MS Dhoni

New Delhi. Indian cricket team captain Rohit Sharma created history in his very first match of T20 World Cup 2024. Rohit has become India's most successful captain in T20 International cricket. During this, he broke the years-old record of the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Rohit achieved this feat in the match against Ireland. India started their campaign in the T20 World Cup with a bang by defeating Ireland by 8 wickets. Rohit is playing the T20 World Cup for the 9th consecutive season since the first edition in 2007. This could be Rohit Sharma's last T20 World Cup.

Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, the Indian team registered its 43rd win in a T20 International match. Rohit achieved this feat in 55 matches. MS Dhoni has 42 wins in 72 matches. Pakistan captain Babar Azam holds the record for the most overall wins as a captain in T20 International cricket. Babar is at number one with 45 wins, while Uganda's Brian Masaba and former England captain Eoin Morgan are at number two and three with 44 wins. Rohit has reached number four in this list.

T20 World Cup: The man whom Pakistan broke its retirement to bring back, betrayed them, a big blow before the World Cup

Rohit scored a half century
Rohit Sharma scored a brilliant half-century in the match against Ireland. He scored 52 runs in 37 balls. Rohit hit 4 fours and 3 sixes during this. Rohit later retired hurt. He had some trouble in his shoulder, due to which he had to retire hurt and leave the field.

Indian bowlers showed their strength
Indian bowlers dominated this match played at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. The pace quartet of Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Arshdeep Singh and Hardik Pandya destroyed the batting order of Ireland. Ireland returned to the pavilion after scoring 96 runs in 16 overs. Hardik Pandya took the maximum of 3 wickets while Arshdeep Singh and Jaspreet Bumrah took 2-2 wickets. Mohammad Siraj and Akshar Patel took one wicket each.

tag: india vs ireland, M S Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, T20 World Cup

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment