From 2 to 240, see how the journey that started with Jansangh took the BJP through various turns to reach here

Ananya Shroff
6 Min Read

New Delhi: The country is facing the results of the Lok Sabha elections 2024. These results have raised the political temperature of the country. Congress has got a new lease of life from these election results. At the same time, the enthusiasm of the Bharat Alliance has also increased. But the biggest setback has been suffered by the BJP. BJP was among the public with the slogan 'Abki Baar 400 Paar'. But the public stopped the BJP at 240 seats only. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP alone won 303 seats. This time BJP has suffered a big loss of 63 seats. However, BJP is in a position to form the government with the support of other parties of NDA, but whether BJP will be able to take big decisions like before in a mixed 'khichdi' government is a big question. From the era of Jan Sangh to the 'guarantee' of PM Modi, BJP has seen many colors of politics. Let us know the journey of BJP which has traveled from 2 to 240 seats.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Jansangh shone during emergency

In 1975, when the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi imposed Emergency in the entire country, Jansangh started a big movement in the country. Indira Gandhi government arrested many leaders of Jansangh and put them in jail. With the announcement of ending Emergency by Indira Gandhi in 1977, the process of general elections also started in the country. Jansangh merged with Janata Party. The aim of Janata Party, formed by the merger of many parties, was to defeat Indira Gandhi in the elections. Janata Party won this election and Morarji Desai became the PM. In this election, the leaders who came from Jansangh got good success. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was made the Foreign Minister in Morarji Cabinet.

When was BJP established?

The experiment of Janata Party against Indira was completely unsuccessful. This coalition government fell in 1979. After this, on 6 April 1980, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was established as a new political party in the country's politics and Atal Bihari Vajpayee became its first president. In 1984, after the assassination of the country's Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, general elections were held in the country. In this election, BJP won only 2 seats. After this, in 1986, LK Advani became the president of the party. He started the Ram Janmabhoomi movement demanding the construction of Ram temple in Ayodhya. In the 1989 Lok Sabha elections, BJP tasted success for the first time and its seats increased to 86. After this, BJP kept climbing the peak of success. The 1991 Lok Sabha elections were held after the assassination of Rajiv Gandhi. In this election, BJP emerged as the second largest party and got 120 seats.

When Atal ji became the Prime Minister of the country

In the 1996 Lok Sabha elections, BJP emerged as the largest party by winning 161 seats. With the support of allies, BJP formed the government and Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the PM, but due to lack of support, his government fell in just 13 days. In 1998, BJP improved its performance and in this Lok Sabha election, the party won 182 seats. Atal became PM again under the banner of NDA, this time his government lasted for 13 months. After the fall of Atal Vajpayee's government, who became PM for the third time in 1999, mid-term elections were held in the country once again in 1999. This time too, BJP got only 182 seats, but with the support of allies, Atal Bihari Vajpayee was successful in running the government for full five years.

The slogans of 'India Shining' and 'Feel Good' failed

In 2004, BJP contested the Lok Sabha elections under the leadership of Atal Bihari Vajpayee. BJP gave the slogan of 'India Shining' and 'Feel Good'. But at the time of elections, BJP disintegrated. The party had to face defeat. Many allies of NDA joined BJP. After this, BJP remained in opposition from 2004 to 2014. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections fought under the leadership of Advani, BJP had to face defeat.

Modi's entry into central politics

The Modi era of BJP in central politics began in 2013. In 2014, BJP contested the Lok Sabha elections under the leadership of Narendra Modi and returned to power at the Centre with a huge majority. With 282 seats, BJP formed the government at the Centre on its own for the first time. In the 2019 elections too, BJP won a big victory on the strength of Narendra Modi and formed the government at the Centre with a record majority of 303 seats. Now in 2024 also, BJP seems to be in a position to form the government at the Centre.

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at

Leave a comment