Vote percentage, seats, victory margin…how Congress defeated BJP everywhere

Ananya Shroff
4 Min Read
Vote percentage, seats, victory margin…how Congress defeated BJP everywhere

New Delhi: With the election results declared on Tuesday, the situation of the 18th Lok Sabha has become clear. The BJP-led NDA has got a clear majority, while the opposition alliance India has also made a strong comeback by winning more than 200 seats. However, contrary to the exit poll results, BJP has lost seats. The party has suffered the biggest loss in Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 Lok Sabha seats, where it has got only 33 seats. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Congress had won only 1 seat in UP, Rae Bareli, but this time the party has added 7 seats to its account. Congress has also defeated Union Minister Smriti Irani in Amethi.

Congress vote share increased

In the counting of votes so far in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, Congress has secured 21.92 per cent vote share. If we talk about the 2019 Lok Sabha elections five years ago, then at that time Congress had got 19.46 per cent vote share. The party has increased its vote share by about 2.5 per cent this time. At the same time, BJP has got 37.03 per cent vote share in the counting of votes so far. In 2019 also, the vote share of the party was 37.30 per cent. In this way, the party seems to be suffering a slight loss of .27 per cent vote share.

Congress seats doubled!

In terms of seats, Congress has shown an amazing strike rate. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the party won only 52 seats. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi also lost the party's stronghold Amethi in that election. Apart from him, veteran leaders like current party president Mallikarjun Kharge also had to face defeat. But this time Congress has almost doubled its seats. According to the counting of votes so far, the party seems to be winning about 98 seats. In Amethi, Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma has regained the party's old stronghold by defeating Union Minister Smriti Irani. Rahul Gandhi has won both the seats of Rae Bareli in UP and Wayanad in Kerala.

The margin of victory in many seats was spectacular

According to the Election Commission website, Congress has so far won 16 seats and is leading on 82 seats. The margin of victory and lead of Congress is very big on many seats. Congress candidate Shashikant Senthil is leading by 435116 votes on Tiruvallur seat in Tamil Nadu. Deepender Singh Hooda is leading with a lead of 332710 votes on Rohtak seat in Haryana. At the same time, Congress candidate Hibi Eden has won by a margin of 2.5 lakh votes on Ernakulam seat in Kerala. Similarly, Kumari Shailaja has won by a margin of 268497 votes on Sirsa seat in Haryana.

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment