This are the names of 4 astronauts for Gaganyaan mission announced by PM Modi

Ronit Kawale
Ronit Kawale - Senior Editor
2 Min Read
Shubanshu Shukla , Prashanth Balakrishnan Nair, Angad Prathap, and Ajit Krishnan have been selected to be the astronauts on India’s first crewed mission to space. (Screngrab)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has unveiled the names of the four astronauts selected for India’s inaugural crewed space mission, Gaganyaan, set to orbit in low-Earth. During his visit to the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, the PM disclosed the chosen astronauts: Group Captain Prashanth Balakrishnan Nair, Angad Prathap, Ajit Krishnan, and Shubanshu Shukla. All are distinguished members of the Indian Air Force (IAF), holding ranks of either wing commanders or group captains, with extensive experience as test pilots.

Nair, hailing from Nenmara in Palakkad, joined the Air Force in 1999 after completing an engineering degree from NSS College in Palakkad. The astronauts have been undergoing training at ISRO’s astronaut training facility in Bengaluru, with the selection process conducted at the IAF’s Institute of Aerospace Medicine. Out of the four, only three will participate in the Gaganyaan mission.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

The collaboration between ISRO and Glavkosmos, a subsidiary of the Russian space agency Roscosmos, began in June 2019, leading to the training of the astronauts at Russia’s Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Centre from February 2020 to March 2021.

Additionally, NASA is set to train an Indian astronaut for a mission to the International Space Station by the end of 2024, as announced by NASA’s administrator Bill Nelson during a visit to Delhi in 2023. The selection is likely to be made from the four individuals preparing for the Gaganyaan mission.

The Gaganyaan mission aims to showcase India’s human spaceflight capability by launching astronauts into a 3-day mission, orbiting 400 kilometers above Earth, and safely returning with a landing in the Indian sea waters.

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at

Leave a comment