Lok Sabha results: This time there will be 2 cricketers in Lok Sabha, both world champions, both won from the same party…

Orhan Wadia
Orhan Wadia - Editor
2 Min Read

New Delhi. Lok Sabha elections 2024 have proved lucky for cricketers. Not one but two former cricketers have won in these elections. The interesting thing is that both these cricketers have been part of the world champion team in their respective times and both have been elected from the same party Trinamool Congress (TMC). These two cricketers are none other than Kirti Azad and Yusuf Pathan.

Kirti Azad was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. He has won the Bardhaman-Durgapur seat in West Bengal in the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Kirti Azad defeated BJP veteran Dilip Ghosh by 1,37,981 votes.

Lok Sabha election results: World champion cricketer said- my brother won, defeated a veteran leader…

Former cricketer Yusuf Pathan defeated five-time Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. Pathan from Gujarat won the Baharampur Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal by 59,351 votes. Yusuf Pathan has been a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 2007 and 2011. Yusuf Pathan is trying his luck in politics for the first time. Kirti Azad, on the other hand, has a lot of experience in politics and has been an MP before.

Two-time Paralympic javelin throw champion Devendra Jhajharia lost the Churu Lok Sabha seat in Rajasthan. Congress' Rahul Kaswan defeated BJP's Devendra Jhajharia by 72,737 votes.

Veteran hockey player and current Hockey India president Dilip Tirkey has also lost the election. Dilip Tirkey, who contested from Biju Janata Dal, faced defeat in Sundargarh seat. He was defeated by BJP veteran and former Union Minister Jual Oram by 1,36,737 votes.

tag: 2024 Lok Sabha elections, Yusuf Pathan

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment