Lok Sabha Elections From April 19 In 7 Phases, Results On June 4

Orhan Wadia
Orhan Wadia - Editor
3 Min Read

In New Delhi today, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar announced the schedule for the 2024 general elections for the 543 Lok Sabha seats. The elections will be conducted in seven phases, commencing on April 19 and concluding on June 1. The election results will be announced on June 4, marking the beginning of the world’s largest democratic exercise, with the BJP vying for a third consecutive term in power.

Simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will take place in Sikkim, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, and Andhra Pradesh. However, Jammu and Kashmir, under President’s rule since 2018, was excluded from the list. Mr. Kumar stated that assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir will be conducted immediately after the Lok Sabha elections due to a shortage of security personnel.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Additionally, by-elections will be held for 26 assembly seats across various states, including Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, and Tamil Nadu.

During the announcement, Mr. Kumar addressed the issue of fake news on social media, urging political parties to ensure responsible behavior. He emphasized the need for verification before amplification, stating that fake news would be dealt with seriously under existing laws.

Furthermore, Mr. Kumar emphasized maintaining the model code of conduct, stressing that campaigns should be issue-based and devoid of hate speeches or criticisms based on caste, religion, or personal matters. He highlighted the media’s role in distinguishing political advertisements from news content, with personal messages sent to candidates for clarification.

To monitor these issues, the Commission has appointed 2,100 consultants, with strict actions planned against violations. Additionally, voters above 85 years of age and disabled individuals with a 40 percent disability can vote from home, catering to approximately 82 lakh voters.

The announcement comes shortly after the resignation of Election Commissioner Arun Goyal, leaving the three-member commission with only the Chief Election Commissioner. Mr. Kumar expressed appreciation for Goyal’s contributions and respect for his decision. Recently, two retired Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers, Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Gyanesh Kumar, were nominated as election commissioners by a committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and subsequently sworn in.

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at PressNews24.in

Leave a comment