Lok Sabha Elections 2024: 4 Noteworthy Absences from BJP’s Initial Candidate List

Ronit Kawale
Ronit Kawale - Senior Editor
3 Min Read

In a strategic move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has introduced a fresh list of 195 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, replacing 33 sitting MPs with new faces. Notably, the names of Parvesh Verma, Jayant Sinha, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur, and Ramesh Bidhuri are conspicuously absent from the party’s first candidate list.

Changes in Delhi Candidates

The BJP has made significant changes in the candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, with four replacements for sitting MPs. Praveen Khandelwal is now the BJP candidate for the Chandani Chowk Lok Sabha seat, succeeding two-term MP and former Union minister Harsh Vardhan. For the West Delhi seat, Kamaljeet Sehrawat replaces two-term MP Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma. In the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, Bansuri Swaraj, daughter of late BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, has been nominated, taking over from Meenakshi Lekhi. From South Delhi, the BJP has named Ramvir Singh Bidhuri as its candidate, replacing Ramesh Bidhuri.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Controversial Figures Not in the List

Several figures known for their controversial remarks and actions have been excluded from the BJP’s first list of candidates:

  1. Sadhvi Pragya Thakur: The BJP has chosen Alok Sharma as its candidate for the Bhopal seat in Madhya Pradesh, replacing incumbent MP Sadhvi Pragya Thakur. Thakur, despite securing victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, faced criticism for her controversial statements, including comparisons with mythological figures and praise for Nathuram Godse.
  2. Ramesh Bidhuri: Ramesh Bidhuri, the BJP MP, has been excluded after his recent controversial remarks directed at MP Danish Ali during a discussion on the Chandrayaan-3 mission. The BJP president has issued a show cause notice to Bidhuri, and the remarks have been expunged from the Parliamentary records.
  3. Parvesh Verma: Kamaljeet Sehrawat now represents the West Delhi constituency, replacing Parvesh Verma. Verma’s remarks calling for an “economic boycott” of a particular community led to condemnation by the BJP leadership.
  4. Jayant Sinha: BJP’s Hazaribag MLA Manish Jaiswal replaces sitting party MP Jayant Sinha from Hazaribag Lok Sabha seat. Sinha, son of former union minister Yashwant Sinha, requested to be relieved from direct electoral duties, citing past controversies related to financial assistance to accused individuals and posing with them after their release.

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at PressNews24.in

Leave a comment