From Amritpal to Afzal Ansari, these seven MPs did not take oath, know what will happen now

Ananya Shroff
4 Min Read

New Delhi: On Tuesday, the second day of the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, many MPs including Rahul Gandhi, Akhilesh Yadav, Asaduddin Owaisi and Sambit Patra took oath as members of Parliament. But there are still seven MPs who have not taken oath. The Protem Speaker took the name of Punjab MP and Khalistani supporter Amritpal, but Amritpal was not present. Apart from this, SP MP Afzal Ansari came to the House, but could not take oath. Let us tell you which MPs have not taken oath in the 18th Lok Sabha.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Khalistani supporter Amritpal Singh could not take oath

On Tuesday, the MPs from Punjab were being sworn in. The Lok Sabha Secretary General called out the name of Amritpal Singh, an alleged Khalistan supporter lodged in Dibrugarh jail, to take the oath. However, Singh, elected from Khadoor Sahib seat, was not present in the House. Amritpal Singh has been arrested under the National Security Act, recently it was decided to extend the period of NSA against him for one year. Due to this, he could not come out of jail. But according to the rules, Amritpal Singh's name was also taken for oath in the Lok Sabha.

Afzal Ansari came to the house but could not take oath

Samajwadi Party MP Afzal Ansari was also not administered the oath in the Lok Sabha. He reached the House, but was not administered the oath due to the order of the Supreme Court. Afzal reached the Parliament and also sat next to Akhilesh Yadav for some time. In fact, as per the order of the Supreme Court, the Lok Sabha Secretariat had barred him from participating in the proceedings of the House. Since taking oath is also a part of the proceedings of the Lok Sabha, Afzal was not administered the oath.

Engineer Rashid, accused of terror funding, also did not take oath

This time independent candidate Engineer Rashid has won the election from Baramulla Lok Sabha seat of Jammu and Kashmir. Rashid is in jail in a case related to terror funding. Rashid had sought interim bail to take oath. But Rashid has not got bail yet. However, Patiala House Court has listed the case for July 1.

These MPs also did not take oath

The seven MPs who have not taken oath yet include three from TMC, one from Congress, one from Samajwadi Party and two independent MPs. Congress' Shashi Tharoor, TMC's Deepak Adhikari, Shatrughan Sinha and Haji Nurul Islam have also not taken oath yet. Independents Amritpal Singh and Engineer Rashid also could not take oath.

What happens if the oath is not taken?

The MPs who have not taken the oath will neither be allowed to vote in the House nor will they get any facilities of an MP. The election for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker is to be held tomorrow. If these MPs do not take the oath before that, then all these MPs will not be able to participate in the voting for the Lok Sabha Speaker.

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at

Leave a comment