Congress reached 98 from 99, Rahul Gandhi resigned from Wayanad seat, will remain MP from Rae Bareli

Ananya Shroff
3 Min Read

New Delhi: Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has resigned from Wayanad Lok Sabha seat in Kerala and retained Rae Bareli seat in Uttar Pradesh. Lok Sabha Secretariat gave this information on Tuesday. Lok Sabha bulletin said that his resignation has been accepted from June 18. The bulletin said, 'Rahul Gandhi, elected member of Lok Sabha from Wayanad and Rae Bareli parliamentary constituencies of Kerala and Uttar Pradesh respectively, has resigned from Wayanad parliamentary constituency in Kerala and his resignation has been accepted by the Speaker which will be considered effective from June 18. Putting an end to speculation on this issue, Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on Monday announced the decision on both the seats after discussions with top party leaders at his residence in the national capital. He said that Rahul Gandhi's sister Priyanka Gandhi will contest the Wayanad by-election.

Rahul got emotional as soon as he left his seat

Announcing his decision to quit the Wayanad seat on Monday, Rahul had said it was a difficult decision for him as he has an emotional attachment to both Rae Bareli and Wayanad. After the decision, Rahul said Rae Bareli and Wayanad would “get two MPs each”. “I have an old relationship with Rae Bareli and I am very happy that I will represent it. It was not an easy decision as I have an attachment to both (Wayanad and Rae Bareli),” he said. Sonia Gandhi is now a Rajya Sabha member from Rajasthan, Rahul will represent Rae Bareli and Priyanka Gandhi will represent the Wayanad constituency if she wins the (upcoming) bypoll. Sonia was an MP from Rae Bareli constituency for the last two decades and Rahul was an MP from Amethi, where he lost to BJP's Smriti Irani in 2019. But he won the Wayanad seat.

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment