Centre takes big action in NEET-NET paper leak case, NTA Director General Subodh Kumar Singh removed

Ananya Shroff
3 Min Read

New Delhi: Amid the ongoing uproar over NEET (UG) and UGC-NET paper leaks, the central government has taken major action. The Center has removed National Testing Agency (NTA) Director General Subodh Kumar Singh from his post. Former Union Secretary Pradeep Singh Kharola has been appointed as the Director General of NTA in his place. Subodh Kumar Singh has been placed on compulsory waiting in the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT).

The Education Minister had said that action would be taken against the guilty officials

Amidst the NEET and UGC NET paper leak controversy, Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan had also said that if any NTA official is found guilty, strict action will be taken against him, no matter what post he holds. Apart from this, on Saturday, the Ministry of Education has formed a high-level committee to reform the NTA and investigate the paper leak case. Just a few hours after the formation of the committee, the Director General of NTA was removed from the post. This is being considered a big step of the government in the paper leak case.

NEET-PG entrance exam also postponed

With this, the NEET-PG entrance exam scheduled for tomorrow has been postponed. The Health Ministry said that the new date for this exam will be notified soon. Taking into account the recent events related to allegations about the integrity of some competitive examinations, the Ministry of Health has decided to conduct a thorough evaluation of the robustness of the processes of the NEET-PG entrance examination conducted by the National Board of Examinations for medical students.

What has the government done so far in the paper leak case?

Students are protesting across the country over the paper leak. The Ministry of Education is also in action mode. Amid the controversy over NEET and UGC-NET examinations, on Saturday the Ministry of Education constituted a high-level committee of experts to ensure transparent, smooth and fair examinations. This 7-member committee will work under the leadership of former ISRO chief Dr. K Radhakrishnan. The committee also includes Dr. Randeep Guleria, Prof. BJ Rao, Prof. Ramamurthy K, Pankaj Bansal, Aditya Mittal and Govind Jaiswal. The committee will submit its report to the ministry within 2 months.

`; articlesDiv.innerHTML += articleHTML; }); } // Initialize and render feeds fetchAndRenderFeeds();

Leave a comment