A new era of Indian cricket will begin on 6th July at 4.30 pm, the first match after Virat-Rohit's retirement

Orhan Wadia
Orhan Wadia - Editor
5 Min Read
A new era of Indian cricket will begin on 6th July at 4.30 pm, the first match after Virat-Rohit's retirement

New Delhi. A new era is going to begin in Indian cricket. It will begin on July 6 when India will play a T20 match against Zimbabwe. The time will be 4.30 pm. This will be the first match after the retirement of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Shubman Gill will captain the Indian team in this match against Zimbabwe. Not a single member of the team that won the T20 World Cup on June 29 will be in this match.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Not a single member of the world champion team
BCCI has selected only 3 players from the 15-member team that went to play the T20 World Cup for the Zimbabwe tour. These three players are Shivam Dubey, Sanju Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal. All three players are currently in India. Therefore, it is certain that whichever team plays against Zimbabwe, there will not be a single member of the T20 World Champion team. This is the reason why it is also being called the beginning of a new era of Indian cricket. Shivam Dubey, Sanju Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal will be available from the third match itself.

Kohli, Rohit and Jadeja retired
Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma retired from T20 cricket just after winning the T20 World Cup. A day after this, Ravindra Jadeja also said goodbye to this format of cricket. Virat, Rohit and Jadeja have previously been out of many bilateral series in T20 cricket. After the retirement of all three, they will definitely be missed but change is the rule of the world. The Indian team is capable of compensating for its star players.

Abhishek-Riyan can debut
Amid India's victory in the T20 World Cup, the young team led by Shubman Gill would also like to make a strong start in the IPL. Abhishek Sharma of Punjab and Riyan Parag of Assam will make their debut through this series. Zimbabwe is not a strong team but there is not much difference between the two teams in the T20 format. Sikandar Raza, who plays for Punjab Kings in the IPL, can prove to be a challenge for India.

There is no vacancy in the playing eleven for a long time
India's future T20 captain Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh and Kuldeep Yadav are also not in this series. However, all of them will return to this team in the future, so there is not much space left in the final eleven. From now till the 2026 T20 World Cup, the Indian team will play 34 matches in this format.

Who will Shubman start with?
It remains to be seen whether Abhishek Sharma or Rituraj Gaikwad opens the innings with captain Gill against Zimbabwe. If Abhishek opens the innings, Gaikwad will play at number three. Parag can bat at number four. Rinku Singh can play at number five and Jitesh Sharma or Dhruv Jurel at number six. Avesh Khan and Khalil Ahmed are sure to play in bowling. Mukesh Kumar can be the third fast bowler. Among the spinners, Washington Sundar and Ravi Bishnoi can get a chance.

Teams: India (for first two matches): Shubman Gill (captain), Rituraj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khalil Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudarshan, Jitesh Sharma, Harshit Rana.

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza (captain), Faraz Akram, Brian Bennett, Jonathan Campbell, Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Keaia, Clive M, Wesley Medvere, T Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Brendan Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, Antam Naqvi, Richard Angarava, Milton Lyon.

tag: India vs Zimbabwe, Indian Cricket Team, Rohit Sharma, T20 World Cup, Team India, Virat Kohli

PressNews24 provides latest news, bollywood news, breaking news hollywood, top tech news, business standard news, indian economy news, world economy news, travel news, mumbai news, latest news mumbai loksabha election 2024, video viral news, delhi news, Only at PressNews24.in

Leave a comment