A meeting was held at Rajnath Singh's house for the Lok Sabha Speaker, these names were discussed

Ananya Shroff
2 Min Read

New Delhi: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday chaired a meeting of senior ministers to decide the strategy for the upcoming session of Parliament. While the new Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected in this session, President Draupadi Murmu will present the vision of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government for the next five years to the country. Union Ministers S Jaishankar, Manohar Lal Khattar, Bhupendra Yadav, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Annapurna Devi and Kiren Rijiju attended the meeting.

What did JDU-TDP say about the post of Lok Sabha Speaker?

Other leaders who attended the meeting included NDA allies Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lallan Singh of the Janata Dal (United) and Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas). Singh and Paswan are Union ministers. Both Houses will discuss the motion of thanks to the President's address on June 28. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to respond to the discussion on July 2-3. The meeting, held at the Defence Minister's residence, is understood to have also discussed possible candidates for the posts of Lok Sabha Speaker and Deputy Speaker. The JD(U) has said it will support the BJP candidate for the Speaker's post, while another key ally Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has sought a consensus candidate for the coveted post.

Which names are being discussed
The opposition 'Bharat' alliance has demanded the post of Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha for its candidate while the BJP is considering giving the post to its alliance partner. The names of BJP leaders Radha Mohan Singh, D Purandeswari and Bhartruhari Mahtab are being discussed as possible successors of outgoing Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla. Senior Congress leader K. Suresh, who has been a Lok Sabha member for eight times, is the most senior in terms of parliamentary experience and is a contender for the role of temporary Speaker.

Leave a comment